Oscar Nominated Documentary: Restrepo

11 Feb

As you know, I’m running down the five Oscar Nominated Documentaries and so far I’ve discussed Exit through the Gift Shop and GasLand. Next up is Restrepo.

So this film opened the 2010 Sundance Film Festival and that is quite unusual for a doc to open a fest – really unsual. I remembered I got tix to this premiere but unfortunately couldn’t make the screening as I had talent arriving in Park City at the same time. What can I say, duty called! But this film got tons of buzz and I mean tons. I remember briefly meeting the directors at a local radio station and immediately after I thought, I need to watch this film no matter what.

Well I finally watched it and I completely understand why it’s been receiving so much attention. The subject matter alone is quite heart wrenching and unbelievable. But I have to be the one to say it. Structurally, this film is flawed. Its quite poorly edited and you’re not quite sure where the film is going or the point it’s trying to make at times. There are moments in the film where they jump from subject to subject and it’s up to the viewer to know the difference. The sequence of events aren’t fluid and the “characters” in the film can be hard to follow. This is poor storytelling. This leads me to believe they just didn’t have any real footage to explain their battles or current predicaments. The momentum builds throughout the film but falls flat by the end. Nonetheless, the heart of the story is still there and you can’t help but feel sorry for these men who were put in a such a grave situation. Like I said, its unbelievable really.

Verdict: I think this film is a top runner for the Oscar and will most likely win. Does it deserve to win? Not really. But we all know the Oscars aren’t always based on merit. I just think the film itself isn’t a fabulous film. I’ve seen much better docs (read about some of the Oscar winning docs that I loved here). To me, Restrepo isn’t on the same filmmaking level as previous Oscar winners. But I think there’s another doc out there that’s well more deserving of the Oscar. And on that note…

Up next Waste Land.

4 Responses to “Oscar Nominated Documentary: Restrepo”

  1. slucherville February 15, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

    Much of the power and beauty of “Restrepo” comes from the unstructured nature of it. Much like D.A. Pennebaker’s “Don’t Look Back,” we’re dropped into the middle of this chaos and are left to sort through it and figure it out as best we can, much like the subjects of both movies.

    I agree that this will likely get the prize, but my favorite of the three nominated documentaries I’ve seen (Restrepo, Exit, Gasland) is “Exit Through the Gift Shop.” That movie killed me.

    • deathandpeaches February 15, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

      Thanks for your comment! I completely agree with you! The structure can mirror the chaos in the film. But I just didn’t feel it. Dont get me wrong, you do feel the confusion and often times frustration that the subjects are feeling. Had the story been stiched together a little more seamlessly, it would have have made for a better film. I’ll have to look into Dont Look Back. 🙂

      I loved Exit Through the Gift Shop! It was absolutely hilarious and quite witty. It was one of my faves of the year. But I’m hoping Waste Land will get the Oscar. It was such a great film. To be honest though, I’d be happy if either two got it. It’s a good year in documentary.

  2. slucherville February 16, 2011 at 3:41 am #

    Can’t wait to get my hands on “Waste Land.”

  3. kourtnie February 19, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

    your good

Leave a comment